Phlebotomy Certifications: 5 Types You Need to Know About

Phlebotomy is the medicinal practice of drawing blood from patients or blood donors. They are being overseen by a phlebotomist, a person who is authorized to roll out these procedures. Before they can execute phlebotomy, they must first receive certification to do so.

There are many types of phlebotomy certifications you can get depending on the specialization you want to get. For each of the certifications, there are certain qualifications you need to meet, such as paths, number of training hours, and more.

If you’re interested in knowing more about phlebotomy certifications, here are just a few of the types that you can get.

Types of Phlebotomy Certifications

1. Phlebotomy Technician Certification (PBT-ASCP)

This certification is offered by the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP). If you want to pursue this certification, you need to have attained a high school diploma as well as undergo an approved phlebotomy program.

You must have also completed 40 hours of class training and 100 hours of practice. On top of that, you’ll need a medical degree that includes phlebotomy training. It would help to have one year of experience as a phlebotomy technician in an accredited laboratory.

2. Phlebotomy Technician Certificate (PTC-ASPT)

This certification is offered by the American Society of Phlebotomy Technicians. There is a list of criteria to qualify for this certification, and you must qualify for at least one. These qualifications include completing six months of full-time or one year of part-time experience as a phlebotomist.

You must also have completed a phlebotomy training program. Upon certification, you must provide a letter from your supervisor as proof of experience, specifically in venipuncture and specimen handling.

3. Certified Phlebotomy Technician (CPT-NHA)

Earning certification from the National Healthcareer Association is simple enough. The certification is offered in multiple levels. First, the Limited Phlebotomy Technician, then Certified Phlebotomy Technician 1 and 2. 

4. Registered Phlebotomy Technician (RPT-AMT)

The RPT-AMT certification is offered by American Medical Technologists. You will need to pass an accredited phlebotomy course in the last four years to qualify for this certification. You will also need to have gained 1040+ cumulative hours of experience as a phlebotomy technician in the last three years.

You will need to work as a health program instructor, preferable for at least three years. And finally, If you do have a phlebotomist certification from another organization, American Medical Technologists will ask you to pay a set fee. 

5. Certified Phlebotomist Technologist (CPT-NPA)

This certification is offered by the National Phlebotomy Association, it only requires you to complete set hours for training. You will need to finish allied health training that includes venipuncture training. 

This specific set needs to cover at least 360 hours of training, including 160 hours of classroom lessons and 200 hours of practical application. Simply submit any proof of this to the National Phlebotomy Association to receive your certification.


Phlebotomy is a crucial medical practice, and obtaining certification is very useful for your medical career. It’s best to take phlebotomy classes and get experience as a phlebotomy technician so that you can complete your certification. 

Become a medical assistant and acquire your Phlebotomy Certification with the help of Northwest Suburban College. We provide healthcare career training near Schaumburg, IL. Contact us today to get started with your future.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

I Want Answers!